What is syphilis?

(1) What is it and how is it transmitted?

Syphilis is an infection caused by the bacterium Treponema pallidum. It is possible to contract it more than once in a lifetime. It is transmitted through contact with syphilitic lesions during sexual activity with an infected person. This includes through oral, anal, and anal sex, nonpenetrative genital contact, sharing sex toys, and direct (skin-to-skin) contact with lesions. It can also be transmitted through blood, especially when sharing drug paraphernalia. There is also a risk of transmission during pregnancy and childbirth.

(2) Symptoms and complications

There are often no symptoms. Syphilis has been nicknamed “the great imitator” because its symptoms are often confused with those of other diseases. A person can therefore be infected without knowing it.

Untreated syphilis progresses through three stages. Here are the main symptoms for each stage:

  • Primary stage (3 to 90 days after infection): a chancre (painless ulcer) appears at the site of infection, and completely disappears on its own after three to eight weeks.
  • Secondary stage (2 to 12 weeks after the chancre has healed): a rash appears, most commonly on the chest, face, hands, feet, and genitals, and is accompanied with flu symptoms (fever, headache, fatigue).
  • Tertiary stage (5 to 30 years after the chancre has healed): after an extended latency period, if syphilis is left untreated, there may be several complications, which are detailed in the following section.

(3) Complications when left undetected and untreated

If syphilis is not treated, complications can arise even several years later: cardiovascular complications, lesions that can damage the skin and bones, as well as neurological complications that can lead to dementia and dizziness. In the long term, untreated syphilis can lead to death.

(4) Screening

Screening for syphilis involves taking a blood test.

(5) Treatment

Treatment for syphilis consists of the administration of antibiotics, most often in the form of an injection. Usually, a single treatment is sufficient, but several rounds of treatment may be necessary. The treatment is covered by RAMQ for the infected person and their partners.


Time left to help us set a record

La syphilis, c’est quoi?

C’est quoi et comment ça se transmet

La syphilis est une infection causée par la bactérie Treponema pallidum. Il est possible de la contracter plus d’une fois dans sa vie. Elle se transmet par les lésions causées par la syphilis lors d’activités sexuelles avec une personne infectée. Cela inclut les relations orales, vaginales, anales, les contacts des organes génitaux sans pénétration, le partage de jouets sexuels et les contacts directs (peau à peau) avec les lésions. Elle peut aussi se transmettre par le sang, notamment lors du partage de matériel de préparation, d’injection ou d’inhalation de drogues. Enfin, il y a un risque de transmission durant la grossesse et l’accouchement.

Symptômes et complications

Souvent, il n’y a aucun symptôme. La syphilis a été surnommée « le grand imitateur » parce qu’on la confond souvent avec d’autres maladies. Une personne peut donc être infectée sans le savoir.

Une syphilis non traitée évolue en trois stades. Voici les principaux symptômes pour chacun des stades :

  • Stade primaire (3 à 90 jours après le contact infectieux) : chancre (ulcère non douloureux) situé au site de contact. Disparition complète du chancre après 3 à 8 semaines.
  • Stade secondaire (2 à 12 semaines après la guérison du chancre) : éruption cutanée le plus souvent sur la poitrine, le visage, les mains, les pieds et les organes génitaux, et symptômes de grippe (fièvre, maux de tête, fatigue).
  • Stade tertiaire (5 à 30 ans après la guérison du chancre) : après une longue période de latence, si la syphilis n’est toujours pas traitée, il peut y avoir plusieurs complications qui seront détaillées dans la prochaine section.

Complications si y’a pas de dépistage ni de traitement

Si la syphilis n’est pas traitée, des complications sont possibles après plusieurs années : complications cardiovasculaires, lésions qui peuvent endommager la peau et les os, complications neurologiques pouvant entraîner la démence et des vertiges. À long terme, les conséquences de la syphilis peuvent causer la mort.

Test à demander

Le dépistage se fait par une prise de sang.

Traitement

Le traitement de la syphilis consiste en l’administration d’antibiotiques,  le plus souvent sous forme d’injection. Souvent, un seul traitement suffit, mais plusieurs traitements peuvent être nécessaires. Le traitement est couvert par la RAMQ pour la personne infectée et ses partenaires.


C’est le temps qu’il te reste pour contribuer à notre record collectif